Please like us on facebook page for latest update ( You can comment us if any doubt about answer) Please do not copy content without permission

Most Important Current Affair – From 11 April to 20 April

  • Puttingal Temple in Kollam district of Kerala at which a fireworks mishap killed over a 100 people and injured hundreds of other people
  • Delhi girl Priyadarshini Chatterjee crowned Miss India World 2016.
  • India and Germany signed an agreement on the implementation Agreement for Ganga Rejuvenation under the Namami Gange Programme.
  • Investigative journalist Khadija Ismayilova of Azerbaijan was chosen for the UNESCO or Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2016
  • Ajay Devgn and Kajol to be brand ambassadors of Andhra Pradesh tourism
  • Australia has won the Sultan Azlan Shah hockey tournament for the 9th time defeating India in the finals.
  • A subsidiary of Bharti Airtel, AMSL was granted the first payments bank license from Reserve Bank of India (RBI)
  • Haryana Government has decided to rename Gurgaon as Gurugram. State government also has renamed Mewat as Nuh.
  • Author and poet Padma Sachdev was selected for the prestigious Saraswati Samman for 2015 for her autobiography titled Chitt-Chete, written in Dogri language
  • Former army chief Gen. (retd) JJ Singh was conferred with the highest French civilian distinction, Officer of the Legion of Honour.
  • India on 13 March 2016 test fired its indigenously-built surface-to-air Akash missile from complex-3 of the Integrated Test Range (ITR) at Chandipuri in Odisha.
  • PM Narendra Modi today launched Gram Uday Se Bharat Uday Abhiyan on 125th birth anniversary of Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar at Mhow, Madhya Pradesh.
  • PM Narendra Modi launched a national portal e-NAM for agriculture market. It was launched on 125th birth anniversary of Baba Saheb Dr Bhim Rao Ambedkar.
  • World Heritage Day was observed across the world on 18 April with theme ‘The Heritage of Sport’.
  • Delhi has been ranked 44th among the world’s 50 ‘future-ready economies cities’ that are embracing technology for growth. The list is topped by San Jose, followed by San Francisco, Singapore, London, Washington DC, etc.
  • Google in collaboration with RailTel, the telecom arm of the Indian Railways, rolled out free Wi-Fi service at Bhubaneswar railway station.
  • Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das launched the Bhimrao Ambedkar Awas Yojana for widows.
  • ‘Shatrujeet’, which is the Indian Army conducted major battle exercise in the Thar Desert of Rajasthan near to the border with Pakistan.
  • Panagarh Air Force Base of West Bengal was renamed as Air Force Station Arjan Singh. On the occasion of 97th birthday of Arjan Singh, a rare honour has been given to the nation’s oldest soldier Marshal of Air Force.
  • Aishwarya Rai Bachchan awarded the Global Indian of the Year 2016 at the ‘NRI Of The Year’ award ceremony in Mumbai.
  • Dipa Karmakar from Agartala who has become the first female gymnast from India to qualify for the Olympic Games.
  • Mercedes racing driver Nico Rosberg of Germany won the 2016 Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix title in the race held in Shanghai, China.
  • Mary Kom has been named as one of the eight ambassadors for the upcoming World Championships by the International Boxing Association (AIBA).
  • Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) appointed Rahul Johri ( media professional) as its Chief Executive Officer (CEO).
  • A former Pakistan captain, Inzamam-ul-Haq has been appointed chief selector of Pakistan.
  • Durga Thakur of India was promoted as International Outdoor Umpire by the International Hockey Federation.
  • In Istanbul, Turkey the 13th session of the Islamic Summit Conference was concluded.
  • Commemorative Coin of Rupees 200 and a Circulation Coin of 10 Rupees to mark the Martyrdom Day of Tatya Tope (main hero of 1857 revolt). Tatya Tope full name is Ramachandra Pandurang.
  • India ranked 133 out of 180 countries in the 2016 World Press Freedom Index
  • The Sympathizer, A debut novel of Vietnamese American professor Viet Thanh Nguyen has won the Pulitzer Prize 2016 for fiction.



Leave A Reply